

Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

Fri 30 September, 2011

SuperTowns receive \$5.5million planning boost

Portfolio: Regional Development, Lands

- The Minister has announced \$5.5million in Royalties for Regions funding for local governments and RDCs, for planning activities related to SuperTowns
- This planning involves collaboration across local governments and State agencies

In Katanning today for the community's official SuperTowns launch, Regional Development and Lands Minister Brendon Grylls announced that \$5.5million in Royalties for Regions funding had been allocated to support the nine selected towns with the planning phase of the program.

Mr Grylls said the \$85.5million SuperTowns initiative represented an excellent opportunity to stimulate sustainable economic and community growth in towns in the southern half of Western Australia.

"The SuperTowns vision is to create well-connected communities with access to services, affordable housing, and a diverse range of lifestyle and employment opportunities. This will offer more choices for people living in regional WA and provide an alternative to living in metropolitan areas." he said.

The Minister said each of the SuperTowns were about to embark on an intensive planning process to map their vision for growth to 2050, and that collaboration across all layers of government and the community would play a vital role.

"With the State's population predicted to double over the next 30-40 years, these towns need to be prepared to capitalise on this growth and plan for a prosperous future," he said.

"Each town will be expected to provide a comprehensive growth plan, identifying the economic drivers, services, amenities and infrastructure needed to reach and support the town's growth potential."

Mr Grylls said he had been impressed by the strong community leadership that had been demonstrated in each of the towns.

"Many towns have established their project teams and community reference groups, and they are also involving their surrounding communities, which is such an important element of the SuperTowns program," he said.

Fact File

- SuperTowns was launched on July 7, 2011
- The nine SuperTowns are: Boddington, Collie, Esperance, Jurien Bay, Katanning, Manjimup, Margaret River, Morawa and Northam
- Regional Development Commissions (RDCs)

Minister's office - 9213 7000